Events , Portraits

Valrhona’s C3 2018

Pastry Chefs and Chocolate Take Center Stage during the International Final of Valrhona’s C3 at StarChefs ICC on Monday, October 22, 2018 Brooklyn, NY


July 11, 2018, Brooklyn, NY | For the fourth year Valrhona is proud to gather an exclusive selection of pastry chef competitors for the international Valrhona C³ (Chocolate Chef Competition) in partnership with StarChefs. Last year, the grand prize was awarded to Mina Pizarro of L'Appart New York. In 2018, she will represent North America and challenge pastry chefs from across the globe at the 13th Annual International Chefs Congress hosted by StarChefs.

Each candidate will bring their talent and creativity to the United States, after months of training in their home countries. They will present an original plated dessert based on the theme “Design 100% Chocolate” and a pre-dessert with the theme “Think out of the ring (and the mold)!”, using NYANGBO 68% Single Origin from Ghana. Valrhona is indeed proudly celebrating the 10th anniversary of NYANGBO 68%, Single Origin Ghana, a chocolatey and roasted couverture which distinguishes itself by a subtle acidity that allows a note of round chocolate warmth to develop followed by a soft and sweet spiciness. Its character is enhanced by a delicate bitterness.

The Chocolate Chef Competition (aka C³) celebrates professional pastry chefs and honors the elaborate nature of the trade in all of its technical and creative aspects. “Valrhona’s mission is to create community and creative exchange between pastry professionals to push the industry forward,” says Emmanuelle Brun, COO of Valrhona USA. “
StarChefs shares this goal and is a great partner in promoting the celebrated C3 competition in North America.

Visit to purchase tickets and learn more. Pastry professionals can purchase a one-day pass to the show and competition for $99 with the code C32018.

Selected during fierce regional contests organized by Valrhona in 2017 and 2018, the pastry chef finalists are:

  1. Mina Pizarro | L'Appart | New York, USA
  2. Kanako Baba | Nobu at Atlantis the Palm | Dubai, UAE
  3. Paula Stakelum | Restaurant Ashford Castle | Cong, Co. Mayo, IRELAND
  4. Libertad Santiago | DOS PALILLOS | Barcelona, SPAIN
  5. Weilu Wang | La Patisserie Prince Philosopher | Stockholm, SWEDEN
  6. Ettore Beligni | Restaurant The Fat Duck | London, UK
  7. Cyril Gaidella | World Pastry Champion 2017 & CFA Mederic Teacher | Paris, France
  8. Yusuke Aoki | Four Seasons Hotel Resort | Bali, INDONESIA


The winning pastry chef will be determined by a panel of world-class chefs and members of the press. Chef judges include: Antonio Bachour (USA), Claire Heitzler (France), Ramon Freixa (Spain), Cristina Bowerman (Italy), Fredrik Borgskog (Sweden)Karim Bourgi (United Arab Emirates). Press judges include: Santiago Corral, Tom Hemerka, and Nick Muncy. Work judges include: Christelle Brua (France), Sebastien Serveau (France) and Daniel Mongraw (Canada). The determined winner will receive an exclusive Valrhona trophy and €5,000.

Need Help?


A question about your orders, about the functioning of the site or a technical question for your recipes?

See our answers

Send us a question by e-mail

Send a message
Download in progress